Since Neil Armstrong’s1969 ‘Giant Leap’ There have been 5 Other Landings


Neil Armstrong is a part of every general knowledge book and his name written in golden word for becoming first man to walk on the moon. He was a renowned US astronaut and a part of first US Apollo mission. He landed at moon on July 20, 1969 with Apollo 11. In his moon journey his crew pals were Michael Collins and Edwin Aldrin Jr. His mission duration was 8 days, 3 hours and 18 minutes. That was one small step for a man, one giant leap for mankind.
Followed the same Apollo mission in second mission on November 19, 1969 Apollo 12 landed on the moon’s lunar surface with comprises three crews Charles Conrad Jr, Richard Gordon Jr and Alan Bean and mission duration was 10 days, 4 hours, 36 minutes.
In continuation of same Apollo mission on February 5, 1971 US sent Apollo 14 on the moon surface with team of three members i.e. Alan Shepard Jr, Stuart Roosa and Edgar Mitchell and mission duration was 9 days, 1 min and 58 secs.
On July 30, 1971 US sent fourth rocket of Apollo mission. Apollo 15 was launched with team of three members David Scott, James Irwin and Alfred Worden. This mission duration was 12 days, 7 hours and 12 mins.
Apollo mission sent its fifth rocket, Apollo 16 on April 20, 1972 with the team of three members John Young, Thomas Mattingly, and Charles Duke Jr. This mission duration was 11 days, 1 hour and 51 mins.
Apollo mission sent its last and sixth rocket, Apollo 17 on December 11, 1972 with the team of three members. This mission was longest among all six with team member of three persons as usual. This mission duration was 12 days, 13 hours and 52 mins.
Saturn V rocket is used on the Apollo 11 mission and this first mission was shortest mission among the all. These all missions were governed by US’s space agency NASA. By the first Apollo mission comprises limited technology NASA made impossible way to possible and created a remarkable historic event.