Election Commission Recommended Disqualification of 20 AAP MLAs


The Election Commission on Friday recommended that 20 MLAs of Aam Aadmi Party be disqualified for holding ‘office of profit’.
The EC has sent its recommendation to the President for his assent, which he’s fully expected to give. In cases where petitions are made seeking disqualification of lawmakers, the President sends a reference to the EC which decides on the case by sending back its opinion. In the current scenario, the petition was directed at 21 MLAs, but one had resigned.
Congress prominent leader Ajay Makan took the jibe on Arvind Kejriwal and said “Kejriwal Ji does’t have the moral right to stay on his post, he must resign. Congress will carry out a ‘jan aandolan’ regarding the same”

BJP spokesperson Sambit Patra also reacted on this and said “From “India against Corruption” to “I am Corruption”, Aam Aadmi Party has covered the journey in a short time. Do they still have morality to stay in government in Delhi?”

An allegedly disqualified MLA Rajesh Gupta demanded a copy of the letter during the media interaction after order of EC “We demanded copy of the letter but we have got nothing from the Election Commission. There has been no hearing. The matter is sub judice in the high court”

Saurabh Bhardwaj also spoke to media after this jolt to AAP and said “There is no credible information. All reports are based on sources. I want to ask if people from constituencies of these 21 MLAs have seen them utilising government facilities like car, house or salary.No hearing has been held before EC until now”